Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
Something new
02-22-2015, 07:55 PM
Something new
So Hi! I've never tried to lose on higher calories....ever. So....why not.

A little background....

41 yrs old. 5'5" married mom of 3 (18, 15, and 13). I've been lifting weights for 18 years. In Aug of 2012 I decided to lose weight for the last time (in 2005 I lost 80 lbs on a fad diet...fast and furious....it came back and brought friends). I started counting calories.

I never really went too low (a few weeks here and there was 1400). 1650 was my average. I've lost 75 lbs (249.6 to 174.6). My average weight loss is .6lbs per week. I maintained over the summer with parties and such.

I have only taken days off here and there but never a full diet break so when I went on vacation last week (11 days total) I decided it was a good time.

I didn't diet or count or work out and ate lots. Came back 10 lbs heavier. My guess is 6 lbs water weight and 4 lbs actual weight gain.

So starting this at 189.2

Spread sheet and scooby calculator and Bodymedia fit consensus is cutting at 2400 cals per day. Aiming for 130g Protein, 80G fat and fill in the rest with carbs.

I'll be honest and tell you I think that it's too high. Also, I'm stuffed today and am only at 1350 so far. Normally, I wouldn't be stuffed at that. I can easily get to 1900. But...I didn't start eating until late (was shoveling AGAIN!!!! ) and still stuffed from my 8 night cruise. LOL

So....here goes the journal and experiment....I'll post daily weigh ins and daily activity including weight lifting.

I normally follow a 5x5 program (doing a 3x5 cutting version). Squat, bench, dead, BOR, OHP, curls, skulls, etc.

I am a house cleaner by trade (my own business and I work alone). My schedule varies....some weeks I work 4 days...others 2.....

I do some cardio (walking on the treadmill nice and easy in the winter...hikes outside with the pups in warmer weather).