Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
Eat, Play, Write
12-30-2016, 08:56 PM
Eat, Play, Write
Hi everyone! I thought the final days of the year would be a good time to start recording my progress here. I find so many of the posts on these forums inspiring, encouraging, reassuring, and just plain helpful that I hope one or two things in my own journal may help someone else.

So, my dieting backstory....

I'm 5'3", 148.2 this morning, and just turned 64. I was very fit and active most of my life - showed horses and dogs, hiked, swam, biked... But I'm a writer, and over the course of a couple of decades found myself up and at 'em a lot less, and on my widening fanny a lot more. So....

Feb. 21, 2015 - 218.2 pounds, frustrated and FURIOUS at myself for being so heavy. So I joined WW and lost pretty steadily for 16 months. I hit one relatively short plateau about 6 months in and started tracking on MFP as well as WW. I realized my caloric intake was much too low, so I started to eat all my daily and weekly points + all my exercise points. I also read a lot and quickly decided I was not getting enough fat in my diet, so (contrary to WW's low-fat emphasis, with which I absolutely disagree!) I added fat back in to 30% - avocados, olives/olive oil, whole-fat grass-fed yogurt & cheese (small bits). I felt a LOT better and started losing again.

I also increased my exercise drastically. I started with walking, working up to 60-120 min/day. I did a C25K running program and ran a 5K on Thanksgiving 2015. I joined a gym and started doing weights 3 times a week and swimming laps 4-5 times a week. I ran another 5K this past Thanksgiving and am training for a half-marathon in February (although I may switch my entry to the 10K - we shall see!).