Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Runners - Upcoming Races
07-30-2012, 12:02 PM
Runners - Upcoming Races
I know there's several of us on here. I just completed the Bix (a 7 miler with hills). Whew! My next challenge is a half marathon (13.1 miles). My race is September 23rd! After that I will wind down my racing season this year so I can focus on building strength. I might do some 5ks here and there, but nothing huge.

What are your racing plans for the year?

Crystal
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-30-2012, 11:37 PM
RE: Runners - Upcoming Races
I am doing a 12km on september 16th. I have NEVER done a run before (well i have entered them but have walked lol) Currently my trainer and i are doing 2 runs per week 1 which is 6.5km (and incorporates intervals) and one is 10kms. I am also trying to do quite a bit of cardio (kick boxing, cycle classes, rower, xtrainer, etc) as well as my weight sessions with my trainer and body pump classes to try and build my endurance up

kazz =]
http://kazzsjourney.com
183 pounds gone forever big grin
08-05-2012, 09:55 AM
i just completed my very first Half Marathon today! I haven't done long runs for about 6 weeks ( had been doing more HiiT and strength training) and then 2 weeks ago i decided to see how i coped with a 20km (took me 2hours and 40mins with enough left in the tank to know i could do 21.1) to see if it was worth entering the HM or not.

I had given myself the goal to cross both the start and finish line happy
To finish in no more than 2:59:59

I don't have hills to train on so i had to give myself more time to get over the ones on the course!

Well i am convinced the hill at the end of the course wasn't there for the first lap at the 10km mark!!
My partner assures me it was there but i was so strong at that point i just didn't notice it LOL

At the 20km or just over mark it almost killed me!! Even with the knowledge that there was less than 1km to go LOL