Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Too Much Cardio?
06-28-2012, 11:32 AM (This post was last modified: 06-28-2012 11:33 AM by ben_running.)
Too Much Cardio?
I'm new to EM2WL (even though I did use this technique in 2007 to lose 30lbs before changing weights for cardio and gaining it all back, but I digress) but I have a question about marathon training. Obviously, training for that kind of endurance will involve a lot of running. On my previous marathons, I actually got fatter during the 4 months of training (I wasn't lifting. From 200-206 both times and it was around my gut. I started running to lose weight. Ironic?)

Since too much cardio is detrimental, how will I train yet be able to perform on race day? For that matter, how can I stay a runner?

Back in 2007, I was lifting daily but wasn't running much. Since then, it's been totally opposite.

BTW: FIRST POST IN CARDIO!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2012, 05:20 PM
RE: Too Much Cardio?
Do you run all year? Or is there an "off" season that you can take advantage of to build up a bit of muscle that is torn down during race season? My DH and DS are much more cardio oriented than I am, and that's the way that I train them. So for DS (who plays basketball) we do his muscle building phases in spring/summer, then tighten back up on endurance stuff when fall rolls around (his season starts in Nov). Too much muscle will slow him down on the court, but he will have imbalances in his back if we did not do that, as basketball is mostly a forward movement (using chest/shoulder/tricep muscles). Same w/DH, the warmer weather is his most cardiovascular season, so he goes through a bulk with me in the winter, in order to replace some of the muscle loss that occurs each year.

Do you have any stagnant weeks or months that you could dial the cardio down, just enough to keep endurance levels, but not counteract some mini-bulks to put on a little muscle?

Kiki (aka rambling )
EM2WL.com