Exercise n00b says: "Please help me build a routine"
03-09-2013, 01:23 AM
Exercise n00b says: "Please help me build a routine"
Hi all!
I admit that I'm a total n00b to all things exercise. Here's where I am:
- 30 years old
- 5'4"
- 275 lbs
- hoping to lose body fat and build fabulous muscles like KiKi and Lucia so that I will be strong as I age
- I have no experience w/ exercise and/or building any sort of routine

Where in the world do I start? I don't care much for cardio, but I can do it if I need to. I'm just overwhelmed by all the choices and *really* could use some good old-fashioned guidance. Are there any trainers that could help train me?! big grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2013, 06:59 PM
RE: Exercise n00b says: "Please help me build a routine"
Hi there! You have exactly the same stats I did when I started my journey. I've since lost about 100 lbs. In the very beginning I was so out of shape but I knew I had to get myself past that hump. I actually started training for a 5k which was so incredibly hard and I thought I was going to die running for 1 minute. I will say though that while I have since decided I hate running, it was a good thing for me, to show me that I could do things I thought Impossible. I also took a boot camp class and kickboxing. The kickboxing was and probably still is my favorite form of cardio. It was not a lot of impact which was nice, but I got a killer burn and it made me few tough. I would recommend also incorporating a few full body workouts too. New rules of lifting for women has great ideas there or strong lifts is a good basic intro to lifting.
Shoot for 3 full body weight days (about an hour each time)
If you want, add In two cardio days.
That should be a good start for you I would think.

Time to ditch the scale and pick up the barbell!!!
03-09-2013, 09:21 PM (This post was last modified: 03-09-2013 09:24 PM by Kiki.)
Hi & welcome!